top of page

Beyond The Gate, Final Week

For the final week of the project I tried to salvage what I could, I wasn’t exactly pleased with how things and turned out, in terms of a playable I felt like my environment was lacking and wasn’t very consistent. There was huge open areas of environment that barren and then some areas where I had focused more where it was starting to come together.

I set up four cameras in my scene and tried to build areas of detail with interesting compositions in mind, by focusing on areas of interest I could almost guarantee myself 3-4 interesting and good screenshots for my portfolio and use my final week to building a consistent and coherent quality across my level. I realised after setting up my shots that there were a few assets I had placed without textures and had forgotten about, I spent the majority of the last few days this week creating textures for these assets, looking back I’ve realised for future projects it’s important to not get carried away with placing things in levels without textures, it’s easy to get ahead of yourself and start placing things without taking into consideration the time and effort it takes to finish them with textures, materials set up, blueprints etc.

I also learnt this week that the light map issues I were having would cost marks when being marked, initially I had thought that because all my lighting was dynamic and real-time they would not cause an issue but after speaking to a lecture I believe that simply having an error would cost us marks. This was a huge issue as for some strange reason all of my foliage from speed tree had weird light map issues, having not manually unwrapped them myself (they are unwrapped in speed tree) I couldn’t figure out exactly what it was that was wrong with them. I took a branch as an example and played around with it in max for a while before realising that I had to manually create a second uv channel with no overlapping uvs as unreal 4 was just not capable of creating an in engine light map. Once I had figured out this was the issue I then had to carry out the same process for all my meshes, the whole time tediously editing the export files to match those of in engine so that when I would reimport, my meshes would remain where they were/intended to be.

I managed to tackle all these tasks for hand in with a few issues that solving can be postponed to my final review week, I was pleased with my final screenshots and was glad I decided to focus on gathering 4 nice screenshots by building my level around the screenshots at the beginning of the week. Below are a few of those screenshots.


bottom of page